The Academy of Podcasters has announced this year’s hall of fame class, who will be inducted during their 2nd Annual Awards and Hall of Fame Ceremony, presented by Podcast Movement. The industry leading award ceremony will take place on Wednesday, July 6 at the Hyatt Regency Chicago. Doors open at 5:00 pm for a red carpet ceremony, and the awards show begins 7 pm. The awards are a division of and in conjunction with Podcast Movement, the world’s largest international conference for podcasters and podcast industry professionals. See more at:

This year’s Hall of Fame inductees include Dawn Miceli, Drew Domkus, Gary Leland, Mignon Fogarty and Rob Walch.

Dawn Miceli is known as being the first female podcaster. She and her husband Drew Domkus are the co-creators of one of the world’s longest running podcasts, The Dawn and Drew Show.

Gary Leland started his first podcast in 2004, and soon after created the Podcast Pickle. It was one of the first and largest directories and user forums dedicated to podcasting.

New York Times bestselling author Mignon Fogarty is best known by her online persona, Grammar Girl. Fogarty is the creator and host of the Grammar Girl podcast and the founder of Quick and Dirty Tips.

Rob Walch is currently the Vice President of Podcaster Relations for Libsyn. Prior to joining Libsyn in 2007, he was President and founder of podCast411, Inc.

The Academy of Podcasters will also honor an organization that has made significant contributions to the podcast industry. The 2016 honoree is Third Coast International Audio Festival.

The Third Coast International Audio Festival, based in Chicago, curates audio stories from around the world and shares them with as many ears as possible – on the radio, on the Internet, and at public listening events. Operating year-round, Third Coast offers producers and listeners a multitude of ways to celebrate audio storytelling.

The Academy has also announced that podcaster and professional wrestler Colt Cabana will return for his second year as host of the event. Cabana hosts the popular Art of Wrestling podcast, in addition to other audio projects on the Howl platform.

More information about the awards, and this year’s inductees, can be found at

About the Academy of Podcasters:

The Academy of Podcasters was created to recognize and honor the best podcasters in their given niches and categories of podcasting. The Academy is comprised of a group of influential contributors to the podcast space that comes together every year to vote for the winners of the annual Awards. They are also in charge of voting on annual inductees to the Hall of Fame.

Last year’s award winners included Comedy Bang Bang, Smart Passive Income, The Tim Ferriss Show, Stuff to Blow Your Mind, 99% Invisible, Reply All and more.

Last years Hall of Fame class honored the following podcasting pioneers Adam Curry, Danny Pena, Leo Laporte, Mur Lafferty, Scott Sigler & Todd Cochrane.

Academy of Podcasters contact: Lisa McDaniel,